First of all, thanks for all the messages I have received to my hotmail during the weekend. A shame that we still do not have internet access at home (the operator said that they are short in ADSL modems…but I had to subscribe Vietnam News four times before I got it, so that’s just how things work here). But, I promise I will answer all the messages.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

 

Really touching that many of you have told that you have attached my blog into your bookmarks. Particularly touching to hear it from my friend Kata in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Paris, who told starting her morning with this!

 

After the weekend we know much more about the Vietnamese culture again. On Sunday morning we woke up to a noise which came from neighbor. I asked my boys if it is always so noisy at 8 o’clock when I have left to work. No, they answered. I opened the lockers and noticed that there is a party going on. A big tent on the alley, tables, chairs, etc around. I thought that there must be a wedding or sg like that coming.

 

Later on dozens and dozens of people appeared to the neighbor’s tent. We found out that the 86 years old grandmother had died at night and there was a funeral or similar going on. It continued all day until midnight and started after 5 am this morning again. There was even a band with horn instruments playing, starting early. And announcements around the village welcoming people to the ceremony. I do not know if they were advertising the free beer service also!

 

I asked my colleagues about the funeral tradition here in Viet Nam and they told that when someone dies, relatives contact a fortune teller to tell what is the best time for the funeral. And during next 24 hours they are supposed to bury the body. I did not realize yesterday that the body was still in the house and all the gathered people had came to say goodbye to grandmother…Still, I did not find out clearly if this is a Buddhish or just Vietnamese (or a mix of both) tradition, but I heard that the respect towards passed ancestors (as well as elderly people)  is very high here in VN.

 

I definitely want to go to a fortune teller myself also, I have always been interesting on fortune telling, though never seen one.  A friend of mine has got good advices from hers in Finland and I am sure if nobody else, my cousin Eva (and friend Ritva!) understands me. Because we also want to believe in horoscopes!

 

What else, thanks for a phone call Tylle yesterday. Really needed it as have had no access to Skype for a while.

 

Some of you have expressed being shy to comment straight in this blog – please do not feel. Or comment as an anonym, I will guess who is who then. I want this blog rather being proactive than a monolog!