We arrived for a week ago back to Vietnam and we have been customers of SOS clinic already. On the first day in the work after my arrival my Vietnamese colleagues kindly invited me to a street restaurant to eat "bun cha", very delicious Vietnamese soup with BBQ grilled pork meat and fish sauce with noodles. Something what I have been eating for many times since I came here and what is actually my favourite Vietnamese food. BUT – obviously my stomach was still in Finland as next day I became really sick with stomach cramps and had to get some pain injections at SOS clinic. Well, got a good medication and after two days recovering felt better.

On Friday it was Toivo´s turn. Only slight fever which is already better, but as it was the first fever for ever to him (lucky us!), I panicked and called SOS…No panic, they assured me and fortunately I had some painkillers for him so did no need to carry him to the clinic as it is quite tiring in weather like this (must be nearly + 40 C).

Otherwise the week has been pretty smooth though being a single mother for three weeks. Back to the culture, I was told gaining weight during my holiday as a first thing, which is true but which I would only expect to hear from my very best friends. But I was clarified later that in Asia it means, "we care about you". Someone told that in Laos pretty common greeting is, "have you eaten well". Also I listened stories from single ladies reaching 30 years and how much pressure they have from their families for getting married. Before that there is no way to get out of your parents either. Well, I just wonder does it make any better with parents-in-law then, what is the next step, but this is such a big different cultural thing that I normally remain as a listener only!

Well, I am waiting Finnish friends here for the afternoon coffee. I promised to serve Presidentti-coffee, Fazer-chocolate and apple pie. Sounds good for those who has not been into their home country for a while.

By the way, this weekend Finnair had a great sale to Bangkok, 499 € only. It is the third time since May they have this offer, for limited time of course. So those who plan travelling here, keep your eyes opened, the ticket sale is open normally for two days only  on that price. The guest house is pretty full until the end of October, but reservations are taken from November on! Looking forward to hearing your summer stories!