Blog has been sleeping for a while, as I was also informed from Finland! There is a simple reason which all parents know: kids are simply jealous to the computers (and telephones and many other things which would attract parents). Therefore, the posting often happens during Toivo´s, which are also getting shorter and shorter. Last weekend I simply prioritised translating my CV during Sat naps, and watching Sex and the City on Sun. Not sure still about the quality of my CV, but Sex and the City was definitely worth the reputation. Good laugh, although had to speed it up a bit from the end and therefore there is a good reason to watch it once again.

 

However, since the previous update, I have been working hard for a new project document, and fighting against Vietnamese authorities…The story begins for a week and a half ago when I received our electricity bill from June-July period when we only spent one day in the house. The bill was around 50 USD which is impossible if nobody has been living in the house as we thought. Started ringing the estate managers office and after x number and a visit there, I got the first technician to visit the house. He informed that the meter keeps running when he switched the power off. Well, another x number of phone calls to the office and they sent another technician, who was so called head of technician. This guy informed that no problem, the meter stops off when power is off. There I was, with two different reports and bill of 50 USD to be paid. The response in the office was that the first technician was wrong. Very simple from their side, so they thought. Next step was to call to a BIG BOSS, an Australian estate manager of the International Village of Ciputra Hanoi. He was actually very friendly, and promised to send the third technician to check out the meter. He came, and concluded with the first one, the meter keeps running after power off. After his visit, I got a very friendly purposed phone call from the office saying that I do not need to pay the bill from July and they are going to change the meter. Give me a break, everyone knows that this is not the solution, as someone would still keep stealing my electricity. When I suggested that may be it would be better to first find out WHOSE bill I have been paying rather than just changing the meter, the official sounded finally like understanding the message…

 

So, the story will go on, may be next week, but it really seems that life never gets boring in Vietnam. On these days I am really hoping that Pekka would be here, he is much better on solving this kind of problems. I do not have a piece of diplomacy when I have to argue on issues like this.

 

The only moment I had fun during this story was when I told it to my colleague, who comforted me that when she lived in Gambia and they did the same trick, switched the power off, the whole village went dark…so I guess things could be worse as well ;))

 

Thanks for all of you who also remembered 16 August! Have a nice weekend and next week, I try to complete the story of the electricity bill latest by next weekend, if there will be end by then.