It seems that a week has passed in a minute, and I have not been able to report of our trip to Ho Chi Minh City  (HCMC) or Saigon, like the Southernes want to call it. Very briefly: much more advanced than Hanoi, much better shopping than Hanoi, friendlier people, no cheating taxies, better organised traffic. I could live there. Lovely restaurants. Worth visiting those who still plan to visit Vietnam.

 

I concentrated on shopping, and babysitting, while 2 history teachers accompanied by me, went to see  Cu Chi tunnels by Viet Cong. Too small for them. And as the guide had told, also for western women´s ass!! We all together, the little fire alarm including, went to war museum. Propaganda, propaganda, awful pictures of war victims, including some fetus in formalin, affected by dioxin. Makes people feel awful. Too many awful stories around right now. Not only Jokela´s massacre victims, but many others.


By the way, what was really funny, there was a poster exhibition of 70s Vietnam movements around the world, and one we assume, was from Kajaani, a demonstration against Vietnam war. Very funny, we thought. Regarding the war, I have not been very fond of reading war books this time, unlike in Bosnia, but I just finished a book called "The girl in the picture", all of you remember the most famous picture of Vietnam war, from a napalm attack and the little girl called Kim Phuc. A touching story and worth reading.


1067716.jpg

I also attach one picture from war museum, it also tells you a lot.

1067717.jpg

Today went to ethnic minorities Xmas bazaar, and there was a fund rising for an abandoned newborn, who was bitten by a dog (lost his right leg, testicles, and part of penis, it was said). I am not sure if I can believe all these stories, but I am afraid they are true. Right now, I am still suffering of all these bad stories as well as Al Gore´s movie on climate change and thinking what can I do myself for preventing the climate change. A lot, all of us can do.

Otherwise the Xmas bazaar was great, as last year as well, see my writing in Finnish here . Next weekend there is another bazaar by all Embassies, a little world around in this campus where we live. Looking forward to next weekend, then!