Today is an exciting day in Finland. For the first time ever the Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Finland. I know that my friends will gather together, have couple of bottles wine and watch it on TV. They had gone to semifinals to see it live, I am a bit envy I could not do it, though seldomly wathcing Eurovisions as they come so late. I am well known of my sleeping talents and go early to the bed. Last year I was woken up to celebrate Lordi´s win, though. Anyway, I am sure today is a great day to Finns as we are so used to get zero points in this contest.

I am ready for Toivo´s B-day party. I have ordered two huge cream cakes from bakery, they just arrived. Costed about 10 euro each, so I did not want to risk my son´s first b-day by baking cakes myself. Yesterday he already got presents from Vietnamese friends and today will come the Finns. (And visitors from Finland late today bringing more presents for him).

Last week I met another Vietnamese friend of mine - I do not have many of them, but still more than many other foreigners here. She told that her motorbike was stolen. The police found it but she had to pay more than 100 dollars to police to get it back. Her neighbour´s newer motorbike was stolen some time later. It was more expensive to get it back, she had to pay more than 300 dollars to get it back. This is all corruption, and it is so obvious here. Nothing works except with money. And the service can still be poor. I always blame sosialism of it but I am not sure whom I should blame.

It is already 30 C here in Hanoi, extremely sweaty and we have to keep airconditioning on all the time. Luckily electricity costs less in the new appartment than it used to cost in our house so that is not so bad.

Tomorrow is mother´s day, I wish a nice mother´s  day to all my friends and of course to my own mother. I guess I will also get something nice, as it sounds that most of my female friends have been contacted during last week. Until next week, then!