Time has been flying during last 8 days, since our friend arrived. I think we all have seen more Hanoi than ever. We have been wandering in Old Quarters, which is the heart of Hanoi. We have done lots of shopping, eaten delicacy and enjoyed. And, unfortunately to be cheaten as well. Every street vendor tries to cheat us, a taxi driver cheated us, in the silk market they tried to cheat us etc etc. So, anyone mentioning the Asian honesty, just do not believe it any more.

Another thing, I think I am suffering a bit of a culture shock at the moment. Not depressed or anything like that, but I just want to complain about everything. I am so fed up with all these cheaters and other things that do not work out, that I really have to control myself that I do not start yelling. Like the other day, a man from Vietnam News (an English newspaper here) called to ask whether I want to continue the subscription. He only speak Vietnamese and I passed the phone to our secretary in the office. I asked her to translate that why in the earth do they ask a Vietnamese speaker only to contact a reader of an expat newspaper. Well, the same bloke showed up to our office (anyone can enter our office, we are not fenced like UN in Balkans used to be!!) and I repeated the same complaining via our secretary. The bloke stared my, obviously not understanding me at all, and in the end he asked "what´s your problem". Really - what´s my problem at the moment, I think is a bit of culture shock. Things can not work out in the development country as in developed country, I have to remember. Luckily, an European colleague told that the same happened to her as well after being here few months - and now after a year and few months she is suffering of the same complex again....

Fortunately, I have here the best company ever, unfortunately 2 more days any more and I have to say good bye to Mari, Seppo and Anja. I think I could live with them like a family. Seppo playing and giggling with Toivo, Anja cooking, Pekka cleaning, and Mari and me entertaining!!! That´s how our family has looked like during last week! Ladies have made beautiful dresses for PPO´s anniversary (in Runeberg´s day), Seppo some other nice stuff. So I am sure they all have enjoyed it very much.  Toivo has shown his best side being happy little himself. He adores his godfather Seppo, he really does.

I was really nervous yesterday when I knew that my dear friend in Finland, Titta, is giving a birth. This morning I receive an e-mail from her friend Sari, that little Anni has got a little sister. Congratulations Titta, Matti, Anni and the little one! I hope to get a picture of her as soon as possible.

Happy New Year to all of You. I have to go now, my friend Loan is coming to show us how to make "pho", vietnamese noodle soup. Enjoy your selves!