In my past the WomenIT project I used to be in charge of theme called work/life balance issues which basically means that how do you balance between your work and private life, whether it means that you live as a single, you have dozen of kids or just a dog. But the key issue being that you do should not be too much overloaded by none of these fields. So, practically I should know a lot about it in theory but being in a situation as a mother for the first time, I have to add, that this is harder than I expected. I just wonder who those mothers or fathers who work and have more kids, or a single parents, do cope as I get stress from this combination already!

There is always a debate whether mothers with babies should work or not. This was my own choice to start while Toivo was 5 (and half!) months but of course Pekka agreed. And I am extremely proud of him being on parental leave, belonging to the less than 5 % minority in Finland taking this privilege. I have friends who have stayed at home many years and I have friends who have quitted their maternity leave even earlier than I did. But nevertheless, most of my friends have chosen the option taking a full leave but not much extra and going to work when their child is one year old. I respect all individuals choices as long as the mothers feel that they are satisfied to this solution. But of course I would like to see more fathers taking the initiative as well, so far I only know Edo who now is on parental leave while Olivia works, yes, and of course Jaakko who is on a leave of absence while Kaisa also started a new job.

Simply, it would be more equal if the parental leave would be shared equally between both parents and I think good for daddies as well. Some of my friends have told that they have suggested that option to theirs spouses but their response has been that they can not take leave from their jobs, as it is too busy there. An excuse, as we know.

But, once again, most women in the world do not have an option of a long maternity leave. Here in Vietnam the parental leave is only 4 months, so in the end, we have to be very happy for this privilege.

Well, back to the track, I am trying to say that balancing work and family has been quite a challenge. Basically it means that I stay all evenings and weekends with Toivo, otherwise I would feel guilty and I am not sure whether this is either a good solution that I basically never go out after office hours without Toivo. Because  - I propably feel guilty however I would do. But I have heard that most parents feel this way – always a feeling being insufficient.

So, I just read in Iltasanomat, that a first symptom of stress is pain in the shoulder and a rash. And I have both!!! Any good solutions to get rid of that? Fortunately I still sleep well and tight.

I hope not being too pessimistic; I have plenty of happy things around as well. Toivo now has two teeth and he can stand up supporting from the table or sofa. I also have less than five weeks for the next holiday…I also have new beautiful trousers from the tailor, I also have – GREAT FRIENDS – you who read this blog. Cheers for that and let´s try to find positive things around us!