Some ten years ago it sounded really unrealistic that there would be a telephone with video camera. We used to joke that it would be quite funny, if you could see the person on the phone and on the other hand, you should dress up every time you answer the phone.

Still in my previous missions 1998-2000 inBosnia, I used to write lots of letters – and also receive them. I was famous of that in my work place where the postman brought nearly every day a letter or two. Unfortunately that time is history, as nowadays I never receive letters any more. Still in Finland I used to receive regular letters from Kaisa A (very funny ones). Because the Vietnamese post is unreliable, I do not know whether anyone has written letters to me any more. I used to send post cards during my first weeks here, but because they were travelling about 7 weeks from here to Europe, I gave up very soon. Now I only send cards if I travel somewhere like Bangkok and NY. Some of you may receive a post card next weekend from Kuala Lumpur. Anyway, it is a pity that tradition does not exist any more. Of course we write e-mails instead, but it is not the same thing, as we know.

Today emails has replaced letters and skype is an additional advantage of technology – free calls anywhere in the world. This weekend my uncle from Kuopio had driven to Kajaani nearly 200 km to see us in Skype. Well, he went fishing as well, but he wanted to see whether Skype is worth downloading before he will do it himself. So, we had a chat last night with him and hopefully more often in the future when he gets his own Skype. It is great that although we are far away from home, we can see quite a few of you quite regularly in our living room! Keep going and calling to us!

The weekend has passed too fast again. Friday evening went in an art gallery with the Finnish team and afterwards in the Hanoi Old Quarters which I realised that I have not seen enough at all. It is really a wonderful part of this town and I am looking forward to showing it to our visitors. A bit too crowded in a day time but not bad at all in the evening. I really need to find more time to explore it further.

Today is so hot that it is really sweaty both in- and outside. And this is only a beginning; it is getting hotter and hotter towards summer. But I guess we shall get used to it and even enjoy it.  Many of you have enquired what is the best time to visit Viet Nam. I have been told that summer is awfully hot and also rainy. Last year when we arrived in late October, it was nice warm until the Chirstmas. From Christmas until March it has been even cold sometimes, so I guess that the autumn is the best time to visit then.                

The little one is pulling cables again. It is time to prioritise things and quit this time! Have a nice week!