We had a really nice day at Christmas Bazaars here in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Hanoi. The event was held at UN School in Ciputra, which is a really posh area. Most countries had their own stands, where they sold traditional stuff for their country – all for charity.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

 

We met in the Finnish stand really nice people (normally in missions I do not hang around so much with the Finns, but here I seem to do it). Once again I realised how small this world is. We met a family from our home town of whom we had heard so much ever since we told people in Kajaani that we are leaving. Everyone seemed to know them. I also met a cousin of my former colleague Marja-Leena – I had talked with this lady on the phone during the summer when I was still unsure if this is a safe place for a baby (actually her husband is the Ambassador here). But the strangest connection was one Danish Lady, whose friend also lives in Kajaani, and this friend of the Dane now works as a replacement of my friend Olivia! You know, just so funny that you meet someone who knows someone who possibly lives far away. My friend Hanna-L. used to wonder how in the earth I know so many people, it is just that I am so curious! (and like googling who is who!!)

 

Sometimes some of these people just pass by, but some of them can even become your friends. You never know. It is like once I introduced two of my friends, Anja and Outi, because I knew that they both like dancing and are teachers. And now they are really good friends.

 

Back to bazaars, Toivo was once again charming people. Who ever wanted to talk to him, he was the Mr Sunshine. He likes people, but to mum and dad he expresses his real feelings very strongly (no doubt he has my genes, though he looks like his dad)!! But I hope that now when our maid Anh starts tomorrow, we could rely on her and leave Toivo to her sometimes alone. So that I should not be as nervous as I was on Friday evening when I knew that my dear friend Tylle (36 years) was as a babysitter alone for the first time on her life! Thank Goodness, everything had gone fine with her and Wiltsu!

 

A Finnish jazz band Espoo Big Band was in Hanoi together and had a concert. Pekka just arrived. Have a nice start of the week! And if I do not write before Wednesday, happy Independence Day! And if I do not write before Friday, so happy Birthday to my godson Niko, who will turn 11 years!

 

p.s. Those who keep asking photos in the blog - sorry, but I am terribly lazy taking pictures, it will take time...